Tuesday, March 16, 2010

The nightmare begins....


Sorry for the lack of posting lately, we've all been sick...and I mean REALLY sick the last few weeks. We're finally back on the mend and ready for warm weather!!!

I received a call yesterday from (a WAY too cheerful) DFCS worker yesterday that she needed to go get Brandon from daycare because his biological father has finally been located and they need to do a DNA test. When I asked if the father was interested in Brandon, she (again too cheerfully) says "Oh yes, he's definately going for full custody". So, I got off the phone and cried like a little girl...for an hour. The idea of handing that sweet, precious and loving child over to a complete stranger is unimaginable...absolutely unimaginable. I've prepared myself for the mom to (at some point), pull a rabbit out of the hat and get her crap together...but not for a "mystery" dad to show up at the last minute and lay claim. I just don't get it. He's never even laid eyes on him.

So, the two of us spent the evening on the floor building things. His favorite thing. I made him pork chops and green beans (his favorite), and I've never in my life given so many hugs and kisses. He's clueless as to what's going on. I can only pray that the "dad" loses interest and disappears a quickly as he appeared. From what I gather, he was not a real nice guy and I can only hope there is a record, or something equally stinky in his past.

Not a lot of sleep went on last night...needless to say. It's now a waiting game. Waiting on the DNA results, waiting on a court date....waiting to find out if I get to still be his mommy.

*sigh*